Tanking


120713_mcw-bench_600

Ron Cortes/Philly.com Staff Photographer

This seams to be a subject on everyone’s mind. Tune into ESPN or NBA Network and all you hear about is tanking in the NBA. What is stirring up these conversations? My Philadelphia 76ers. They have been doing everything they can to throw their season down the drain. At this point they don’t care what their fans think, and at this point their fans can, for the most part, agree with the decision. There has also been a strong negative feeling toward tanking in the NBA. Is it really that bad though?

Perfecting Tanking

The 76ers haven’t just tried to lose, they have done everything they possibly can to eliminate every chance they have at winning. There is a very good chance of them losing every game until the end of the season. They are already on a 15 game losing streak and at this rate they are looking at finishing that streak at 36-games (in other words, always pick against them in ESPN Streak for the Cash).

Philly’s GM Sam Hinkie must have gone to college to learn the best way to intentionally sabotage yourself.
Trade away you best player, drop to the lowest any team ever has below the salary-cap than any other team…ever, Don’t sign anyone that potentially help your team, and make the most awkward lineups ever. That takes some serious skill.

On the trade-deadline they dished out their best player, Evan Turner. I guess they didn’t see him fitting into their long-term plan for a championship run. Before that they threw away their star point guard, Jrue Holiday,  in the draft to move up pick up an already injured Nerlens Noel. On the plus side, they might have 7 draft pick. Step one…Check!

When they had the opportunity to sign veteran players to help the rookies and the young busts on their team, they passed on the opportunity and saved money. This may be one of the rare times that putting money aside to save it is not a good idea. Step two complete.

They are just throwing anything with a Sixers jersey on the floor and hoping they lose. Hell they may even put the kid in the front row in for a few minutes. Its they least they can do for making his dad pay full price for a season they gave up on. Tanking complete.

Should The NBA Allow This To Happen?

Should the NBA allow teams to throw away an entire season for what Grantland’s Bill Simmons called it ” Quadruple P (Ping-Pong Pole Position)”? Why should the NBA let anyone disappoint their fans, plummet ticket and merchandise sales, and embarrass the league?

Well of course they should let teams tank, but not for any of the reasons that I listed before. There needs to be a financial penalty for doing this of course so they don’t destroy the league, but if teams can’t take, how will they ever get better?

Tanking allows team that need help, get that help. In this case the 76ers needed a lot of help and they did whatever they could to get that help. They may have taken to drastic measures but they did what they had to do, disappointing fans with a possible 36-game losing streak and screw around with the playoffs just for the hell of it by letting Danny Granger (who they got for Turner) go anywhere he wanted.  But in the long run this may pay off, you never know.

About Kevin Bridge

I am an undergraduate student at the University of Tennessee majoring in journalism and electronic media. I am one of the co-founders of The Backfield Press.

17 thoughts on “Tanking

  1. After exploring a handful of the articles on your website, I honestly like your
    way of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my
    bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and tell me what you think.

  2. Hi, i reaqd your blog from time to time and
    i oown a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a
    lot of spam remarks? If so how do you reduce it, any
    plugin or anything yoou can suggest? I get so much lately it’s
    driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  3. I’m really impressed together with your writing abilities as well as with the structure to your blog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to
    see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  4. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own blog now ;
    )

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my
    own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get setup?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

  6. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends.

    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  7. Superb blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other
    experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions,
    please let me know. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

