Storming the Court


20130307-163059.jpg

Storming the court seems to be a common recurrence this year as top teams keep falling to unranked teams.

No. 6 Miami U lost to Georgia Tech at the final buzzer, No. 5 Georgetown lost to Villanova, No. 16 Saint Louis lost to Xavier, No. 23 UCLA lost to Washington State, and No. 13 Oklahoma State lost to Iowa Stats. And that’s just the upsets from yesterday!

So what’s with all the upsets this season? Well I think it’s the quality of play. No matter what game I turn on, even if it is against to unranked teams, I know I will see a good game. That’s what I like about basketball. The number of quality of teams in college basketball is great.

Lets be honest, who is going to tell me in the beginning of the year that Gonzaga would be number one with only 2 losses going into conference tournament week? Who would have told me that Indiana, Duke, and Kansas have 4 losses and Syracuse have 7? And who the heck would have told me that Saint Louis would even be in the NCAA Tournament let alone ranked?

After Duke lost to Virginia coach K made a comment after the game about having to scramble off the court to safety when Virginia students rushed the court to celebrate the win. I find it strange how coach K decides to bring this up know as appose to the countless other time that the court has been rushed by students.

The conference tournaments and NCAA Tournament is going to be something to look forward to that’s for sure. Be sure to print out you tournament brackets to keep track of all the madness.

About Kevin Bridge

I am an undergraduate student at the University of Tennessee majoring in journalism and electronic media. I am one of the co-founders of The Backfield Press.

Leave a Reply

