Earning his Stripes


This man has gone to being on top of the world, torn down, and is working his way back up. There is a lot to be said about the individual in the picture above, but I’m going to make it simple.Amazing.

This man has not only proven himself to be better at golf than anyone in the world for years, but he has been to hell and back.

I’m not going to tell you about how I think Tiger Woods is back to his old self again and he is going to be unstoppable, because I don’t think he is. He still has a lot of work to do before that point his “second career”. But I’m also not going to sit here and bash him either. He made some mistakes. And as much as people want to think he isn’t, he is only human. Just, a human with extraordinary talent and cameras following him everywhere.

I like Tiger. Always have. After all the press started to simmer down and he started playing again, I found myself wanting him to win more than I did before. I guess it’s because, well I don’t actually know why. But I’m not the only one. Sunday afternoon was one of the greatest moments in golf this year. Its king has returned to his throne on top the leaderboard.

After his second shot on the 18th landed on the green at Bay Hill, he had a long walk in front of a crowd that was 10 deep on both sides of the fairway. With a big grin on his face he walked while spectators ran behind him to get the best spot to see Tiger sink his putt.

And then the roar. The crowd that surrounds Woods doesn’t give off a roar like most players get when they hit the long put for the occasional eagle. The crowd rewards Tiger with an explosion of noise that can be heard all around the course, and maybe the nearby town. That was no different Sunday when his ball rolled into the cup to seal his first win in 2 years.

He has a new coach, a new caddy, and has been working on a new swing. He has worked hard to get back to the place he was before the fateful Thanksgiving morning. This is only a step in the process to that goal, but it has to feel good getting that first win and the 500 lbs off his shoulders.

Kevin Bridge

About Kevin Bridge

I am an undergraduate student at the University of Tennessee majoring in journalism and electronic media. I am one of the co-founders of The Backfield Press.

Leave a Reply

